Courses tagged with "2013": 1

The Caribbean and its adjacent seas, including the Atlantic, have been the source region for 11 % of the world’s fatal tsunamis over history, with almost 100 tsunamis observed that have impacted 23 countries of this region. Caribbean nations must be prepared to face the dangers of tsunami from distant, regional and local sources. While many Caribbean Member countries continue to depend primarily on the Pacific Tsunami Warning Center (PTWC) for the warning advice to their National Tsunami Warning Centres, the reality of the dangers posed by local and regional sources does require Member States to: (i) identify and assess their tsunami risk; (ii) improve and expand the capabilities of their National Tsunami Warning Centres (NTWC)/Tsunami Warning Focal Points (TWFP) and Disaster Management Offices (NDMO) in order to respond to a tsunami in a timely and responsible manner to save lives; and (iii) engage in regional collaboration to build a strong warning and mitigation system.
In this context, the International Tsunami Information Center (Hawaii), in collaboration with the IOC ICG/CARIBE-EWS Secretariat, the Caribbean Tsunami Information Center (CTIC), and the Caribbean Tsunami Warning Program (CTWP) organise a Regional Tsunami Training Workshop on Strengthening Standard Operating Procedures (SOP) for Tsunami Warning and Emergency Response and the Development of the ICG/CARIBE-EWS PTWC New Enhanced Products to be held in Bridgetown, Barbados,18-22 November 2013. The training has the support of UNESCO and the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) for Barbados and the OECS through the Enhancing Resilience to Reduce Vulnerability in the Caribbean (ERC) Project.
Participants are: a) members of the country’s national tsunami warning centre/tsunami warning focal point, national disaster management office, or geohazards agency; and b) responsible for and involved in tsunami warning and emergency response operations, and/or responsible for their country's Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs). Participipating countries for this session are: Aruba, Barbados, Curaçao, Dominica, France (Guadeloupe, Martinique), Grenada, Guyana, Netherlands (Bonaire), St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, and Venezuela.